40th Annual Lenon Wisdom Memorial Spelling Bee

About the Spelling Bee

Worth Township’s Annual Spelling Bee is open to all public, parochial, private schools, and home schooled children within Worth Township from the 5th and 6th grade (Junior Division) and the 7th and 8th grade (Senior Division). The spelling bee is held in the month of April. Students must be sponsored by their school to compete in the Township-wide spelling bee.

Special Thanks

Among those to be thanked for their assistance with this annual event are Illinois State Senator Bill Cunningham, Illinois Representatives Fran Hurley and Kelly Burke. In addition to the winners receiving their trophy, medal, and certificate, the 1st through 3rd place winners will received a monetary gift from the Township. This annual event is held under the direction of Worth Township Supervisor Kevin Hughes, Worth Township Trustees Kelly Kelly, Patrick Hanlon, Rich Lewandowsk, Eamon McMahon, Worth Township Clerk Katie Elwood,and Youth Commission Director Sue Sortino.

40th Annual Lenon Wisdom Memorial Spelling Bee Winners

Worth Township Supervisor Kevin Hughes would like to announce the winners of the 40th Annual Lenon Wisdom Memorial Spelling Bee. The competition was held on Friday, April 28, 2017 at Worth Township located in Alsip, Illinois. Participants were divided into the Junior Division, consisting of 5th and 6th graders, and the Senior Division, consisting of 7th and 8th graders. The spellers were from schools throughout the Township.

Senior Division Winners

2017 Senior Division Winners 40
Front Row (left to right): 2nd Place: Ela McHenry, 1st Place: Kaitlin O'Malley, 3ed Place: Lucian Slodczyka
Back Row (left to right): Back Row:, State Representative Fran Hurley, Trustee Kelly Kelly, Supervisior Kevin Hughes,Trustee Rich Lewandowski,Trustee Eamon McMahon 

Junior Division Winners

2017 Junior Division Winners 40
Left to right; Front Row: 2nd Place:Victoria Nielsen, 1st Place: Brett Meskill, 3rd Place: Leo Chavez
Back Row: Trustee Rich Lewandowski, State Representative Fran Hurley,Trustee, Trustee
Kelly Kelly, Supervisior Kevin Hughes, Trustee Eamon McMahon